New Year New You(Tube): The importance of video in 2020.
Video content will be your secret weapon when it comes to digital marketing, SEO and PPC campaigns in 2020. Our Senior Digital Designer, Graham explains why.
Video has been hailed as the future of content marketing. And, looking at the stats, it’s easy to see why. The way people consume media has changed drastically — and video's popularity is only just getting started. It’s already a crucial part of any digital marketing strategy — and its importance will only increase in 2020. Our Digital Design Expert explains the top video trends to adopt — and why 2020 will be the year of the video.
'Stories' will continue to rise
A key feature of Instagram and Snapchat, stories (video content that only exists for a certain period of time) will become even more popular in 2020 as platforms like Facebook and YouTube introduce the function.
Its ease and accessibility mean that stories have become a new form of vlogging — and the good news for brands is that they’re a low cost, high engaging way of reaching audiences. As digital advertisers look to invest more in this style of advertising, expect to see stories continue to take off over the next 12 months.
Video will be more searchable
Climbing up the SERPS of Google is always a high priority – and video is set to help you achieve that in 2020. Video content has gradually inched closer to the top of organic search results on both desktop and mobile pages, and this trend is set to progress even further.
According to Wordstream, video already drives a 157% increase in organic traffic from SERPs, while Business Insider predicts that video will represent 82% of all IP traffic in 2021.
Thanks to Google’s announcement that they’ll be using AI to identify video related search queries — which will autoplay on search results pages — video content will be even more vital to optimise a brand’s organic search potential.
Video will become shoppable
People love video — especially when considering a purchase. A recent HubSpot survey found that users are 64% more likely to buy a product after watching a video. So, naturally, the next step was to combine video with shopping.
Shoppable video is a trend that’s been met with open arms. In fact, a recent study found that the impact of shoppable videos on purchase intent is nine times higher than non-shoppable videos. Big names including Yoox, Net-A-Poerter and QVC have already started to roll out shoppable videos — and thanks to its ability to convert browsers into buyers quicker than ever, it’s a trend that’s set to snowball in 2020.
UG video will have its moment
Following in the footsteps of influencer videos, UG (user-generated) video is set to have its moment in 2020.
Unlike influencer videos, which are paid for or sponsored by brands, UG content is voluntarily produced by customers. Covering everything from product reviews, demos and tutorials, this honest, unbiased and authentic approach is increasingly attracting customers — and the brand's across all sectors are quickly jumping on the trend. As shoppers wise up to sponsored content, expect to see more UG video rolled out over the next 12 months.
Video will get a personal touch
Personalisation is a huge buzzword right now. It’s become an expected part of the online experience, and it’s one of the key ways that businesses are reaching — and keeping — customers.
According to Smart Insights, 72% of customers say they’ll only engage with marketing messages that are personalised, with 48% of consumers wanting to see videos that reflect the products and services they're interested in when it comes to decision-making.
Though it’s not necessarily a new trend (businesses are already using personalisation to increase click rates, leads and conversions) it’s a trend that’s only getting bigger. More and more businesses are realising that when it comes to user experiences (UX), one size certainly doesn't fit all, and 2020 will see even more personalised video content being incorporated into digital marketing strategies.
Video will enhance PPC campaigns
Video ad spend has been increasing year on year. As more innovative ways of ad targeting continue to launch, video is likely to play an even more important role in digital marketing campaigns in 2020.
Facebook and Instagram video ads are grabbing the attention of customers — and they're becoming an invaluable tool for increasing remarketing lists quickly. As an added bonus for marketers, they're also a much more cost-effective way than sending users to a specific URL. For example, the typical cost per click can cost anything upwards of £0.50, whereas a cost per view (CPV) is between £0.01 and £0.05. This means that an ad spend of £1,000 can build an audience of 20K users who have viewed a video compared with 2K users who would have visited the website. With stats like this, expect to see plenty more video ad content over the next twelve months.
Is your business or brand using video content to its full potential? We've got the expertise to take your marketing campaigns to the next level. To reach more customers, increase ROI and enhance your brand message, drop us a line to speak to our experts today!